This website sets cookies which are used to offer a personalized experience on our website, generate statistics, and realize advertising or social network tracking. Find out more about our Privacy & Cookie policy and how to manage them on your browser. You can change your cookie settings at any time.

Out of public health concerns and given the current travel restrictions and lab closures worldwide because of COVID-19, the 27th International Symposium on Hepatitis C Virus and Related Viruses (HCV2020), scheduled to take place July 6 – 9, 2020 in Montreal, Canada has been postponed to July 6 - 9, 2021 and will now be delivered Virtually.

Local Organizing Committee

  • Mohamed S. Abdel-Hakeem, PhD, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA | @M_S_Hakeem | BIO
  • Laurent Chatel-Chaix, PhD, Institut Armand Frappier, Laval, QC | BIO
  • Angela Crawley, PhD, Ottawa Hospital Research Institute, Ottawa, ON
  • Mel Krajden, MD, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC
  • Sonya MacParland, PhD, University of Toronto, Toronto, ON
  • Valérie Martel-Laferrière, MD, MSc, CRCHUM, Montreal, QC | BIO
  • John Pezacki, PhD, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, ON
  • Rodney Russell, PhD, Memorial University, St-Johns. NL | @RodRussell99BIO
  • Selena Sagan, PhD, McGill University, Montreal, QC | @SaganLab | BIO
  • Joyce Wilson, PhD, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, SK | BIO

international organizing committee (ioc)

  • Barbara Rehermann (Chair), National Institutes of Health, USA
  • Thomas Baumert, University of Strasbourg, France
  • Michael Beard, University of Adelaide, Australia
  • Andrea Cox, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, USA | BIO
  • Heidi Drummer, Burnet Institute, Australia | @hdrummer1 | BIO
  • Mark Harris, University of Leeds, UK | @HarrisLabLeeds | BIO
  • Georg Lauer, Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School, USA
  • Brett Lindenbach, Yale University School of Medicine, USA
  • Jane MacKeating, University of Oxford, UK
  • Philip Meuleman, Ghent University, Belgium | BIO
  • Naglaa Shoukry, University of Montreal Hospital, Canada
  • Eui-Cheol Shin, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon, Korea | BIO
  • Nigel Stevenson, Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland
  • Robert Thimme, University Hospital Freiburg, Germany | BIO
  • Lorne Tyrrell, MD, PhD, University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB | BIO
  • Takaji Wakita, National Institute of Infectious Diseases, Japan

international advisory committee (iac)

  • Sergio Abrignani, Instituto Nazionale Genetica Molecolare, Italy | BIO
  • Ralf Bartenschlager, University of Heidelberg, Germany | BIO
  • Raymond Chung, Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School, USA
  • Michael Houghton, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Daniel Lamarre, Case Western Reserve University, USA
  • Stanley Lemon, University of North Carolina, USA
  • Jake Liang, National Institute of Health, USA
  • Yoshii Matsuura, Osaka University, Japan
  • John McLauchlan, University of Glasgow, UK
  • Tatsuo Miyamura, National Institute of Health and Nutrition, Tokyo, Japan
  • Jean-Michel Pawlotsky, Henri Mondor University Hospital, France
  • Steve Polyak, University of Washington, USA | @PolyakSteve | BIO
  • Charles Rice, Rockefeller University, USA | BIO
  • Lorne Tyrrell, MD, PhD, University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB | BIO
  • Chris Walker, Nationwide Children’s Hospital, USA

Meeting Chairs


Naglaa H. Shoukry, BPharm., PhD

Université de Montréal and CanHepC
Professor of Medicine, Director

Jordan Feld, MPH, MD

University of Toronto
Associate Professor of Medicine

Daniel Lamarre, PhD

DiuTinus ImmunoTherapeutics Inc.
President and CEO